Sanford-Brown Blogs

SBC-Las Vegas Dennis Wright Educator of the Year Award

June 24, 2014 SBC-Las Vegas, General 0 Comments

Sanford Brown Las Vegas Dennis Wright Educator of the Year Award Dennis Wright, Department Chair of Design at Sanford-Brown College in Las Vegas, earned the Educator of the Year in the Student Success category for Career Schools for creating valuable programs that help get students out into the world and experiencing real applications of design.

As department chair and a fashion design instructor for the IADT School of Design at Sanford-Brown College, Dennis leads the campus team that produces stylish prom dresses for girls in need in the Clark County schools. Called “Pretty for Prom,” the program not only gives students an opportunity to put new skills to work, but emphasizes the importance of giving back to your community.

Dennis has also made valuable connections with local manufacturing houses, Galleria Mall and the nearby corporate headquarters of Zappos, each of which afford opportunities for internships and possible employment for graduates.

Through his leadership, he has created more opportunities for student involvement off campus. Students given hands-on opportunities to learn are excited about their real-world experiences and more likely to excel inside and outside the classroom.

Nominees in the Student Success category actively participate as members of the educational community to identify and address barriers to student success.

Dennis Wright is the Campus Department Chair for Design programs at Sanford-Brown, Las Vegas. He holds a bachelor’s degree from Brigham Young University in Clothing & Textiles with a minor in Theatre Arts. He also holds a Master of Fine Arts degree from Boston University in Theatrical Costume Design. Wright has worked extensively in both retail and entertainment industries. He worked as a manager and visual merchandiser for J. Riggings Menswear and Michael’s Craft Stores. Wright has designed costumes for productions at Pioneer Theater Company, Jackson Hole Playhouse, American Reparatory Theatre, and The Barn Theater. He spent 10 years as a costumer, costume designer, and project manager with Walt Disney World in Orlando, Fla. While there, he designed character costumes, attraction uniforms, and contributed to multiple live stage productions. He also managed uniform production for several large-scale Disney resorts. He is currently designing children’s wear as Associate Designer for Persnickety Clothing Company. Wright has worked for Sanford-Brown (formerly IADT) for 9 years, starting as an adjunct instructor at the Orlando campus in 2005. After becoming a full-time instructor he moved to the Las Vegas campus in 2009. He became Department Chair in 2013 overseeing programs in Fashion Design & Merchandising, Game Production, and Graphic Design. He teaches courses in Fashion Sketching, Fashion Design, Fashion History, Consumer Behavior, Visual Merchandising, and Portfolio Presentation. Wright is married to Kimberly (Walker) and they have four children.


What do you think?




Terms and Conditions

By providing your mobile number, you agree to receive text messages from Sanford-Brown via its mobile text message provider.  You may opt out of receiving messages by texting the word STOP to 94576, or simply reply with the word STOP to any text message you receive from Sanford-Brown.

While CEC or its mobile text message provider will not charge end users for receiving/responding to promotional messages, depending on the terms of your mobile phone plan, you may incur a cost from your mobile service carrier to receive and respond to any promotional text messages (standard messaging and data rates/fees and other charges may apply).  Charges will appear on your mobile phone bill or will be deducted from pre-paid amounts.  Current participating/supported carriers are: Alltel, AT&T, Boost, Cellcom, Cellular One, Cellular South, Cincinnati Bell, Cricket, Element Wireless, Golden State Cellular, iWireless, Metro PCS, Nextel, nTelos, Plateau Wireless, Sprint, T-Mobile, US Cellular, Verizon Wireless, Viaero Wireless, Virgin, and more.